I have a question

Grow some food and stuff!

Moderator: matt walker

I have a question

Postby Lollykoko » Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:29 pm

I'm still pretty new at all this stuff, though my research has been several years in the works. Any advice that is offered will be helpful, I'm sure. Two years ago I bought and planted at least a hundred trees and I don't think a single one survived the neglect that resulted from Sis's cancer treatment. Obviously something was left out of the directions! :lol:

My cousin recently bought a place (five acres) and hopes to create a homestead for his growing family. He wants and needs trees. I have 15 acres (or more) of woods, and this time of year it sure looks like there are plenty of young trees scattered among the "old growth". I plan to call Harley and offer him time to come "shop" for a starter woodlot.

What sort of things would we need (or need to know) to do this successfully? A shovel is a given. I have an assortment of plastic pots left over from previous planting experiences ranging in size from two cups to 3 gallons.

Is there a rooting medium that would help stave off transplant shock? Do you water the baby tree when you put it in a new pot? Are willow whips to be stuck in dirt or transported in a water bucket? When a tree is eight inches high, do the leaves look the same as they will when it's eight (or 80) feet tall? Is there a really good resource I should have bought already and be carrying around in the door panel of the pick-up truck?

That's only the questions I know enough to ask. :D Help!
Lollykoko

Re: I have a question

Postby matt walker » Thu Apr 12, 2012 9:23 pm

I'm no expert either Lolly, but I'll share what little I know, and hopefully between the gang here we'll get you started in the right direction.

Uh, let's see, willow whips: I bet you couldn't kill 'em if you tried, but a bucket of water or a pile of dirt in the back of a pickup would probably be fine either way.